Alaska has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country. Unlike many other states, its sentencing guidelines follow mandatory minimums. This system can lead to serious repercussions for first-time offenders. And if you receive charges for one or more subsequent offenses, your consequences will stiffen. Knowing what penalties you could face, though, can help you prepare for them and understand your options for moving forward.
Alaska’s DUI laws
If you’re facing charges for your second DUI, your offense – like your first – will be a misdemeanor. If your charges lead to conviction, you could spend at least 20 days in prison, pay a fine of at least $3,000 and lose your license for at least one year. You will also have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and use it for at least one year upon regaining your driving privileges.
If you receive three or more DUIs within a 10-year period, you will face felony charges. If these lead to conviction, your penalties will include a lengthier prison sentence. Your license will also be suspended for at least 10 years and you may have to pay fine of at least $10,000. You must forfeit the vehicle you were driving during your offense as well, and the registration of all others that you own will be revoked. Once you regain your driving privileges, you will have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and use it for at least five years. After receiving your fifth DUI conviction within a 10-year period, you could lose your license for life.
Moving forward from your charges
Your DUI charges could have a major effect on you if, like most people, you need to drive to and from work. If your charges lead to conviction, you may fear this is impossible. Yet, Alaska allows misdemeanor offenders limited privileges to travel to and from work, even with a suspended license. State courts will determine whether you qualify for these privileges based on your record and treatment history.
If you received a felony DUI conviction, you could still qualify for limited driving privileges. Yet, for this to happen, you must successfully complete a program through the state’s therapeutic courts. In both cases, you will need to apply for a limited license through Alaska’s Division of Motor Vehicles.