All states have laws pertaining to ignition interlock installation after the court finds an individual guilty of DUI. In Alaska, after a mandatory license revocation period, you will need to install an ignition interlock device to drive again.
Unless you live in a remote off-highway location that does not require vehicle registration, there are ignition interlock device providers throughout Alaska. According to the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles, you must have an ignition interlock device installed on any vehicle you choose to drive, even if you do not own the vehicle.
What does an ignition interlock device do?
This machine is a car-based personal breathalyzer. A third-party service will install one in your car. In order for the car’s engine to start, you must breathe into the ignition interlock device. If the device finds that there is any alcohol in your system, the car will not operate.
You will also need to breathe into the device at random intervals while the car is operating. In the event that the device finds you have consumed alcohol, it will cause the car to start honking uncontrollably and flash its lights. This will cause the police to pull you over.
How long must I have an ignition interlock device?
The courts will determine the length of time that you need to have an ignition interlock device: it is at their discretion. However, it is most common for a first-time DUI offender to be able to install an ignition interlock device after serving 30 days of license revocation. If your blood alcohol level was more than 0.16 at the time law enforcement pulls you over, there is a minimum interlock device requirement of 6 months.