brand
We Offer Military Discounts | Schedule Your Free Consultation

The Experience You
Need To Get Results

What should you know about Alaska’s DUI penalties?

On Behalf of | Sep 13, 2021 | DUI

Alaska takes DUI seriously, even as a first offense. Per the Alaska Court System, you can face either misdemeanor or felony charges depending on your prior criminal record. Your first and second alleged DUI results in a misdemeanor charge. However, if your record reflects two convictions for DUI or refusal to submit to a chemical test within the past 10 years, you will face felony charges for your third alleged offense.

Keep in mind that prior convictions include those in other states, not just Alaska.

Mandatory minimum misdemeanor penalties

At a minimum, a misdemeanor DUI conviction will result in the following penalties:

  • 72 hours jail or monitoring
  • $1,500 fine
  • 90-day revocation of your driver’s license
  • An ignition interlock device for 90 days after regaining your license
  • Drug or alcohol testing and completion of a treatment program
  • $66 cost of imprisonment fee

The judge can, at his or her discretion, also require you to do the following:

  • Complete an approved driver improvement course
  • Complete a probationary period
  • Perform community service
  • Pay for any damage your DUI caused
  • Forfeit your vehicle
  • Take a prescription drug that discourages alcohol consumption

Mandatory minimum felony penalties

At a minimum, a felony DUI conviction will result in the following penalties:

  • 120 days in jail
  • $10,000 fine
  • 10-year revocation of your driver’s license
  • An ignition interlock device for 60 months after regaining your license
  • Forfeiture of your vehicle
  • Revocation of your vehicle registration
  • Drug or alcohol testing and completion of a treatment program

The judge can, at his or her discretion, also require you to do the following:

  • Complete a probationary period
  • Perform community service
  • Pay for any damage your DUI caused
  • Take a prescription drug that discourages alcohol consumption

Administrative license revocation

You will also face a separate administrative driver’s license revocation by the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles as a result of any DUI arrest.