When an Alaska law enforcement official pulls you over and ends up charging you with driving under the influence, you may face hefty penalties in the aftermath. An Alaska DUI may lead to criminal consequences, such as time behind bars, but it also means considerable financial repercussions.
Per the Alaska Department of Administration’s Division of Motor Vehicles, even a first-time Alaska DUI has the potential to cost you tens of thousands of dollars.
Breaking down the cost of a DUI
Research suggests that the average amount a first-time DUI offender pays following a conviction is $24,265 after factoring in all associated expenses and fees. This figure includes fines, court costs, and sentencing and vehicle impound fees. It also includes costs associated with hiring an attorney, installing and using an ignition interlock device for 12 months and paying for SR22 insurance once you regain the ability to drive. There are also costs involved with changing your plea and attending a DMV administrative hearing, among other possible expenditures.
Breaking down the cost of alternatives
An Alaska DUI costs much more than you would pay for someone to drive you home after an evening spent drinking. A taxi service costs about $2 per mile, while a limousine service averages about $1,000 for every seven hours of use. To put this in perspective, you could ride halfway around the globe in a taxi for the same amount you would pay after receiving a conviction for DUI.
When you face a DUI charge, the details surrounding your breath test and traffic stop may help you organize and prepare your defense.