When Alaska authorities charge you with driving under the influence and that charge leads to a conviction, you may have valid concerns about being able to hold down a job without a driver’s license. However, in some cases, you may be able to get a limited license that allows you to drive in certain cases after a specific suspension period passes.
Per the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles, one condition of driving on a limited license after a DUI is that you must install and use an ignition interlock device in your vehicle during the period of limited licensure.
How the ignition interlock limited license works
An ignition interlock limited license lets you drive in specific circumstances – say, to and from work – as long as you provide an alcohol-free breath sample first by blowing into the ignition interlock device. If you violate the rules associated with the device in some way, you may face more sanctions. You may be able to apply for an ignition interlock limited license 30 days after your conviction for a first-time, misdemeanor DUI or 90 days after a conviction for a second or subsequent misdemeanor DUI.
How to apply for an ignition interlock limited license
You may be able to get a limited license if you complete an application, pass required tests, pay processing fees and produce proof that you had an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. You also need to meet the requirements mandated by the Alcohol Safety Action Program and satisfy certain insurance or bond requirements.
The information herein applies only to non-commercial driving in Alaska.