The Law Office Of Joshua P. Fink LLC
We Offer Military Discounts | Schedule Your Free Consultation


Alaska’s assault laws and potential consequences

Alaska takes assault seriously. There are different types of conduct that the law identifies as assault, and the severity of the crime determines if it is a misdemeanor or a felony.

The consequences for an assault conviction can be severe, even for a misdemeanor.

Laws regarding assault

According to the Municipality of Anchorage, there are various actions that constitute assault. The ones that result in a class A misdemeanor include:

  • Causing physical damage to someone else in a reckless manner
  • Threatening physical injury to an individual or family member via words or another act
  • Causing physical injury with a dangerous instrument in a negligent manner

The actions that constitute a felony assault include making repeated threats of injury, causing physical harm to a child under the age of 12, intentionally causing injury using a dangerous instrument and intentionally causing serious physical harm to another person.

Based on the different types of conduct that indicate assault, some examples of this criminal act include getting into a fight at the bar, pointing a gun at someone, saying that you are going to hurt someone and attempting to hit someone, even if the punch does not land.

Potential consequences

Both misdemeanor and felony assault charges result in hefty criminal penalties. The consequences for a class A misdemeanor include a fine of up to $10,000 and up to one year in jail.

In terms of a felony, a class A felony has the most severe penalties, with a fine of up to $250.000 and prison time of up to 20 years. A class B felony conviction results in up to 10 years in prison, and a class C felony results in up to five years in prison, and both convictions come with hefty fines.