Alaska does not have a specific vehicular homicide law. However, there are some circumstances where a DUI can lead to homicide charges.
When can a DUI result in homicide charges in Alaska?
Homicide charges that can result from a DUI
Alaska law outlines multiple penalties for DUI. If you cause an accident that kills someone while driving under the influence, a homicide charge may result.
There are multiple types of homicide that come with different potential penalties. If you were driving in a criminally negligent manner, you could receive a negligent homicide charge.
If you were driving recklessly, you could receive a manslaughter charge. The difference between criminal negligence and recklessness is that a reckless driver knows the behavior is dangerous but does it anyway, while a criminally negligent driver engages in dangerous behavior without realizing the danger.
You may receive a charge of second-degree murder if your behavior indicates an extreme indifference to human life. The difference between the behavior that leads to manslaughter and second-degree murder charges is the severity of the behavior.
Penalties for DUI-related homicide
Criminally negligent homicide is a class B felony that could result in a prison sentence of up to 10 years and up to $100,000 in fines. Manslaughter is a class A felony that comes with a potential prison sentence of up to 20 years and up to $250,000 in fines. A second-degree murder conviction can result in 15-99 years in prison and as much as a $500,000 fine.
Alaska has some of the harshest DUI penalties in the country. If someone dies because of an accident you cause while driving drunk, those penalties are even more severe.