In Alaska, the regulations for driving under the influence are particularly strict, intending to discourage such dangerous behavior. One of the consequences you might face after a DUI conviction in this state is the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. But is this always the case?
An ignition interlock device is a piece of equipment that works much like a breathalyzer, preventing your car from starting if it detects a certain amount of alcohol in your breath. The thought of having to use one of these devices can be daunting, but you need to understand the circumstances under which you might need to do so.
Alaska DUI laws and ignition interlock devices
In Alaska, if you receive a DUI conviction, the court may require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. The state law mandates this, especially for repeat offenders, to prevent them from repeating the offense again.
First-time offenders face a mandatory installation of the device for a period of six months. For a second DUI offense, you will have to use the device for 12 months, while for a third or subsequent offense, the period extends to 18 months.
The role of an ignition interlock device
The primary role of an ignition interlock device is to keep you and others on the road safe. The device connects to your vehicle’s ignition system and requires you to provide a breath sample before you can start your car. If the device detects alcohol on your breath, it prevents your vehicle from starting.
This device serves not only as a preventative measure but also as a monitoring tool. It records all your attempts to start the vehicle and sends this information to the appropriate authorities. Thus, it can keep you accountable and help you make safer choices.
Having to use an ignition interlock device can indeed be a challenging aspect of dealing with a DUI conviction. However, remember that it is a temporary measure. Once you complete your designated period, you can have the device removed from your vehicle.