Driving under the influence carries strict legal penalties in Alaska. In addition to fines, you may lose your driving privileges for an extended period.
Review the possible license suspension penalties for an Alaska DUI.
License suspension period
Alaska courts may suspend your license for 90 days after a DUI conviction if you have no prior convictions. For a second offense, the suspension extends to a year, and then to three years for a third offense. You may be able to qualify for a restricted license if you need to drive to work. However, you must prove to the court that you have an ignition interlock device, are receiving treatment for substance use disorder and have a job.
Ignition interlock device requirements
The state also may require the use of an IID after you get your license back. This device prevents your car’s engine from starting unless you provide an alcohol-free breath sample. Alaska has a possible six-month IID requirement after a first DUI, 12 months after a second DUI and 18 months after a third DUI.
Alaska has mandatory minimum penalties for DUI. A first offense carries 72 hours in jail and a fine of at least $1,500. Depending on the severity of the offense, the judge can also order discretionary penalties. These may include community service, drug and alcohol screening and treatment if indicated, court and jail surcharges and fees, and the requirement to forfeit your vehicle.
People who have a commercial vehicle license may receive cancellation of driving privileges after a DUI. License suspension penalties do not apply to incidents involving watercraft.